The Countdown To The Resurrection

The Countdown Begins In Search of RidorLIVE.com

25: What’s Wrong With You?

Posted by ridor9th on April 30, 2008

When I was a child, I observed my father reading the newspapers every morning. At VSDB, I often walked into Student Life Office to pick up the local papers to bring it in the Bass Hall Cafeteria for breakfast. Why?

Because knowledge is power. To keep abreast of current events are important to each of us. Empowerment. Sensitivity. Knowledge. On Fridays in American History class under Mr. Richard Koch, he would resort to the bulletin board which he filled up the photographs of the weekly’s current events to discuss and explain to the students at VSDB about what is happening in Moscow, Belgrade, Wellington or even Anchorage — sports, politics, tragedies, wars — each is important just to keep you aware of your surroundings.

Even at Gallaudet, I always manage to scoop the current events from The Washington Post (No, I don’t believe in The Washington Times’ crap!) in managing with the Gallaudet’s own affairs as well.

Even when I lived in New York City, I read NY POST and NY Daily News on the daily commute from Park Slope to East Village.  Oh my god.  These tabloids has nothing to do with Deaf people, why should I read these garbage?  Because I want to know what is going on in East 56th Street or something in Tribeca!  Anything to empower myself to keep myself safe and … going.

So when I blog, I try to include the current events as much as I can — I try to humanize my entries by making the fact that even I’m Deaf, I’m part of this world.  My life is not about deaf, deaf, deaf and deaf. It is good to be Deaf, yes, but unlike yours, my life is much more than just being Deaf.

I am truly amazing at the numbers of deaf vloggers/bloggers wasting their time and efforts focusing on deaf-related issues incessantly to a point where I stopped checking them out except for *Boston.  Nearly 95% of them talks about Deaf, deaf, deaf, deaf, deaf, deaf and deaf — stop it, already! Hello, get out! Immerse yourself in the world by reading newspapers, internet and so on. Why do you think I stopped reading DeafRead?  You guys embarrass me.  You guys limit yourself by talking about something you only can talk nor discuss.

Tell us what you think of this Austrian father who imprisoned his daughter in the cellar for 24 years and fucked her and had 7 children who never saw the sunlight nor moonlight? Oh, you did not know nor hear about this?

Of course, I am not surprised that you (few of you probably heard or read superficially) did not know about this. How pathetic. Why do you think I often do not watch nor read your stuff? Because you’re incredibly boring when you dwell on the same subject.

Cheers,

R-

17 Responses to “25: What’s Wrong With You?”

  1. Darren said

    Amen!!!!

  2. hedor said

    I agreed!

  3. *Boston said

    LOL… good article! Thanks for mentioning me… I, too, read news and I’m quite junkie… love CNN, Daily News, Perez (for fun) to name a few…

    I’m utterly disgusted about that man who fathered 7 children and locking his daughter up, I’ve got a theory here and will vlog tonight. You’ll get to see it soon Ridor…🙂

  4. Hello Kitty Fan said

    I’m a news junkie, too…what I’ve been intrigued by is how the Austrian captive (that girl who escaped) has come forward to help the family of this sick man who fathered his own grandchildren.

  5. BlueRocketPower said

    I totally agree with you about that. I try to keep up with local news in where I am and where I am from. I want to know what is going on and get/know the “vibe” from population on certain issues.

  6. Silly Tony said

    I read both DeafRead and many different newspapers. Smile.

    Silly Tony

  7. DeafLinda said

    Hello I agree with you 100%. I am watching Good Morning America, The View, Dr Phil Show, CNN, Dateline, 20/20, News, etc.. also read daily newspaper.

    I am shocked about that sick Father/Grandfather locked his daughter and 7 grandchildren in the filth cellar for 24 years. He is monster and molested to his own daughter. It is sad. I would love to hear more news about daughter and 7 grandchildren. Keep in posted.

  8. Rox said

    Could you tell me the last time the news had anything positive? I honestly can’t remember. I don’t like reading the news because it’s always full of sad, sick, and traumatic events.

    Also… doesn’t deafread only post things related to deaf? The rest of the posts that are unrelated to deaf issues don’t get put onto deafread, so you might be looking in the wrong place?

  9. LS said

    To Rox there is good news network if you like to know if there are positive in the world, Here goes! http://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/

    🙂

  10. Katie said

    If you want to read some positive news, you can check out http://www.happynews.com

    Katie

  11. RLM said

    If I interwoven the current event stories along with deaf issues. My blog posting would be likely assigned to the “EXTRAS”, instead of main page – DR.

    I always enjoy your POV on various current events. You and Rob Underhill are very rare deaf bloggers doing those stuff!

    Robert L. Mason (RLM)

  12. Ann_C said

    It is true that DR pushes to DR Extra any article that is not deaf-related, even if it’s a deaf blogger who wrote the article.

    I too would like to see more variety of news and other subjects being discussed in DR. Too much focus on deafness, and not enough on what actually goes on in deaf people’s lives. Many people have fascinating interests, hobbies, travels and occupations that others can enjoy reading about as well.

    Many of us already get our fill of news via mainstream or online media sources. It’d be nice to know deaf people’s take on the news as well.

    The story of the depraved Austrian monster’s 24-year captivity of his own daughter under his wife’s nose is truly incredible and revolting. One wonders why it took so long to finally expose him.

  13. J.J. said

    Ummm…it is DEAFread with emphasis on “DEAF”….

    If you want other news…there are plenty of sites out there…

    Nonetheless, I agree I am tired of “CI This, CI THat” etc…and I agree with Ann_C above..why not more articles about deaf people…their jobs…their hobbies etc…we can be more creative by interjecting “deaf” into many issues…

  14. ridor9th said

    Most deaf bloggers/vloggers do not mix the deaf-related with the current events. They chose to deal with the deaf-related issues academically which I chose not to view/read at all. THAT is what I meant all along.

    As for you, JJ — you got it. The keyword is “interjecting”.

    Many Deaf vloggers/bloggers do not get it. And I do not watch/read their garbarge until they learn how to interject.

    Cheers,

    R-

  15. Crystal said

    Ooohh, I don’t read much but I do hear from my parent. Haha, they do keep me updates. My dad is the one who told me about the father in Austraian who locked away his daughter and had sex with her. Sad!

    We usually share informations. When I watch news, I share with my parents. When dad read news, he also share the news that he reads. We bascially taking turn to keep each other updates of what’s going on. My mom is more of keeping updates for family and neighbor.

    Smile!

  16. RLM said

    Nobody have the superbu talents like you for interwovening the current events into related deaf issues posting(s).

    I am like the Spock character, who always focus on the issue of logics and relativity. I did try and try to interject the current events to be written into.

    I guess that many of us, deaf people are generally drilled with the proper writing method by writing one topic or not add anything new at the last sentence, etc.

    RLM

  17. DeafSun said

    I totally agree with Ricky. They all talk about Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, Deaf, and they bored me. They have no life, only limit to their world which won’t gain them with outside of their world.

Leave a Reply

 
